Green stuff —

So, I’ve been taking a closer look at the Space Hulk models, and thinking about green stuff; mostly after seeing wiltrich’s creation of a Space Wolf battle leader.  It’s got me thinking about whether I can actually take those Space Hulk models and convert them, properly, into Space Wolves.

I used to do some clay modelling as a teenager; not on this scale, but I understand roughly what I’m doing, and I’m confident of being able to achieve what I want with the green stuff, and to at least reasonable levels.  I’m eyeing up the modelling putty I need for that part now.  But what I’m less confident of is my ability to get rid of the old markings.  Some, I should have little difficulty working with; but other bits, I half expect to end up with a mangled, sliced-up mess.  I have  a decent X-Acto knife that should fulfil the role of scalpel in this kind of surgery quite nicely, but I’m still hesitant, as I worry that I may end up destroying what are some very, very nice models.

Additionally, being a player ahead of either a painter or sculptor, I already assembled them to play the game.  And having them assembled already will, I suspect, only make this kind of work trickier to get right.  Oh well…

4 Responses to “Green stuff —”

  1. Looking forward to seeing this project progress! Wil 🙂

    • Likewise! I’m keen to see what happens with your Cadian sculpting from scratch project; I’m not sure if that’s come on at all since I last saw it, but I’m following along, so I imagine I’ll see the results when they’re there!

  2. I have absolutely no skills with the Green Stuff. I had to fill a join last night and made a real mess of it. Is it best to manipulate when it has set a little? When I try to clean bits up it is still fresh but uber uber tacky and sticks to everything – me, other mini parts, my tools etc.

    Nightmate 😦 Good look matey. I too am looking forward to the results!

    Cheers,
    Will

    • Hey, Will —

      I’m yet to really work with green stuff myself, but I have experience in clay, and I know that working with that needs you to keep your fingers moistened to control it without it sticking to absolutely everything. I used water for clay, but I’ve heard of other people using hand cream or even chapstick on their fingers to do the same with green stuff. I’ll probably be sticking to water for the time being, just because it’s what I’m familiar with.

      I used water for tools and implements for the same reason, too, and I’ve heard of people doing the same for mini-work with green stuff, so there seem to be parallels between clay work and working with the green stuff. But still, I’m honestly just going to be experimenting with this, it’s been years since I last did any clay work. And at the moment, I’m not sure how far cured it should be for me to get the best results.

      My plan right now is to work a few simple pieces side by side, working with very basic tools, and see at what stage of the curing process I get the best results. This’d probably just be flat work, little pieces on cardboard I think. I’m still waiting for my green stuff to arrive, though, so I can’t do it yet…

Leave a comment